Students Recognized at 2018 Honors Convocation

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.0.84″ background_layout=”light”]

The University of Olivet recognized the best of its student body at the annual Honors Convocation held Wednesday, April 18.

The following students were recognized for their scholastic achievements in the 2017-18 academic year:

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type=”1_2″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.0.84″ background_layout=”light”]


Accounting Student of the Year
Stephanie Robinson

Economics and Business Department Student of the Year
Madeline Maxwell

Management Student of the Year
Bruce Baker

Marketing Student of the Year
David Sunnock

Outstanding Financial Planning Student of the Year
Nicholas Ranney

Risk Management and Insurance Student of the Year
Megan Keathley

Charles M. Trubac Insurance Senior Award
Jenna Benvenuti


All-Scholar Performance Team

Forrest Courtright Chelsie Smith
 Nicole Deweyert Sofiya Stumpos
 Madison Grace Kadesha Alawar-Taylor
 Savannah Hickman Payton Watson
Hailey Jungel Nicole Zerfas
 Taylor Molnar

Jare Klein Excellence Award
Earl Bryant, Talen Schallhorn

Debra Tighe Memorial Award
Nikole Kern, Ayren Parrish


Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar
Isabelle Leon, Jamaul Martin, Ayren Parrish

Linda Hoover Athletic/Scholastic Achievement Award
Isabelle Leon

Walter B. Sprandel Athletic/Scholastic Achievement Award
Bruce Baker


Thelma Barlond-Oderkirk Memorial Award
Matthew Ellis, Jack Tromp

Laura Berghorst-Verplank Scholarship
Marah Heikkila

James R. Donohue Award in Arts and Communication
Joshua Scheidler

Douglas and Blanche Gallery Scholarship in Journalism
Alyssa Bergey

Al and Mary Ann Gilmour Scholarship
Shane Duncan, Margaret Dunn

Antoinette Green Prize in English
Jacob Kinney, Adam Walle

Leo T. Hendrick Prize in Creative Writing
Marah Heikkila

Sarah Ann Maas Memorial Award
Jacob Kinney

Media Prize
Crissta Ames, Joshua Scheidler, Matthew Scher

Wolfgang Mieder World Language Scholarship
Maggie Graham, Bryan Plesner, Marrissa Pritchard


Computer Science Achievement Award
Ryan Jex

Mathematics Award
Ryan Clark, Nicholas Jones, Victoria Monterusso


ACS Outstanding Graduating Student in the Chemical Sciences
Julianna Carter

David N. Cutler ’65 Endowed Scholarship
Heather Roble, Brooke Sturgeon, Lynn TenBrink

Richard C. Fleming Ecology and Field Biology Prize
Julie Crone

Fred Gruen Chemistry Assistantship
Jordyn Osterland, Brooke Sturgeon

Outstanding Senior in Science Award
Dallie Flower

Rasmussen-Reames Pre-Medical Scholarship
Alexis Hart, Isaac York

Edward P. Speare Biology Scholarship
Taylor Elley, Delaney Graham, Zachary Meharg, Abigail Slater, Bronson Warren

Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship Award
Brooke Sturgeon


Chorister of the Year Award
Madeline Maxwell

Instrumentalist of the Year Award
Tori John

Ivis Larson Carlson Music Scholarship
Makennah Rousseau

Helmer & Larida Petersen Endowed Music Scholarship
Abigale Smith

Thelma Pryor Music Scholarship
Ta’Neeka DeMyers

Samuel Robinson Music Scholarship
Tori John


[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type=”1_2″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.0.84″ background_layout=”light”]


William Burns Award
Nataliya Malaydakh

Outstanding Achievement in Criminal Justice
Yul Snell, Brandie Pomeroy, Jack Tromp, Aleena Janousek

Outstanding Achievement in History
Alena Buczynski

Outstanding Achievement in Psychology
Domonique Giroux, Jacob Richards

Outstanding Achievement in Sociology/Anthropology
Keri Hettinger


Justus W. Cohoe Art Scholarship & Evelyn Gray Anderson Memorial Workshop and Travel Scholarship
Samantha Igl, Megan Partlo

Visual Arts Department Honors
Amanda Briggs, Hannah Mellino, Reiker Dean, Katelyn Priest, Tyler Thenikl


Ellyn ’36 & Lane ’40 Breidenstein Endowed Alumni Council Scholarship
Jillian Johnson

William Buchanan Award
Dominique Giroux

Jim Coleman Prize
Adam Walle

Lenora Belle Hazard Memorial Award
Abigale Smith

Marty (Mason) Jennings ’67 Endowed Alumni Council Scholarship
Tatum Oxford, Desiree Luque Pradas

David C. Pywell ’69 Memorial Alumni Council Scholarship
Jeff Humphrey

Rev. Grafton ’37 & Ruth ’38 Thomas Alumni Council Scholarship
RaeNona Claramunt, Alexis Hart, Tyler Nobel

Joan Johnson Wagner ’45 Alumni Council Scholarship
Kadesha Alawar-Taylor, Nataliya Malaydakh, Brandie Pomeroy


Leadership in Service and Service Learning Award
Jacob Richards

Women’s Board Scholarship Recipients

Amari Brown Tatum Oxford
Emily Dorn Miranda Pier
Margaret Dunn Brandie Pomeroy
Alexis Hart Desiree Luque Pradas
Jeff Humphrey Katelyn Priest
Jillian Johnson Jessica Taylor
Marisa Vertrees

2018 President’s Leadership Institute Fellows

Alissa Belcastro Hannah Mellino
Nieya Brown Victoria Monterusso
Ta’Neeka DeMyers Tyler Nobel
Emily Dorn Madelyn Notenbaum
Ryan Jex  Ayren Parrish
Jillian Johnson Katelyn Priest
Alex Lehman Deivan Prince
Ronnie Lord Abigale Smith
Nataliya Malaydakh Jessica Taylor
Madeline Maxwell Hezekiah Turner

2018 Hiram Archer Scholars

Asheley Brooks  Ta’Neeka DeMyers
Nieya Brown Jillian Johnson
Julianna Carter Ashton Osborne
Ayren Parish

Donald A. Morris Award – Top 5 Graduates
Graduates and their most influential professor
Jenna Benvenuti – Michael Oyster
Julie Crone – Leah Knapp, D.V.M.
Isabelle Leon – Phil Reed
Victoria Monterusso – Janine Peters
BreAnne Rudlaff – John Moore, Ph.D.

Doctors Gorton and Peggy Riethmiller Awards
Excellence in Teaching – John Homer, Ph.D.
Excellence in Advising – Michael Oyster
Excellence in Scholarship – Rev. Michael Fales
Outstanding Adjunct Instructor – Nancy Beers
Outstanding Administrator – Geoffrey Henson

Livingston Professorship
Kirk Hendershott-Kraetzer, Ph.D.



We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking closing this window, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. However, you may visit “Cookie Settings” to provide a controlled consent.

Uolivet.edu occasionally displays advertisements from third-party advertisers. These advertisements are provided by independent companies or individuals over whom we have no direct control. While we strive to ensure the quality and relevance of the ads displayed, we want to make you aware of certain disclaimers and guidelines regarding these third-party advertisements.

Contact Admissions

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*