Seventy-Nine Students Honored with Multicultural Awards

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

Since its founding in 1844, The University of Olivet has celebrated diversity and has recognized the accomplishments of students from various cultural and ethnic backgrounds. Each year, the Multicultural Awards banquet provides an opportunity to honor outstanding students in academics. On April 5, 79 students were revered for their academic achievement in the fall 2018 semester.

Daisha Breckenridge ’14 served as the keynote speaker at the event. She holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from The University of Olivet and went on to earn a master’s degree in clinical psychology. She currently works as a psychotherapist with a passion to help people. While at Olivet, Daisha was a member of the President’s Leadership Institute and Eta Psi Kappa sorority.

“When I first began at Olivet, I came not knowing anyone,” Daisha said. “I didn’t have a roommate. It took me going to classes, joining different groups and organizations and hanging out around my dorm to meet new people. Eventually, I created new friendships and found my roommate. Being a part of organizations like Black Student Union, a sorority and the President’s Leadership Institute gave me the opportunity to meet and learn from people. They also gave me the opportunity to be around people who are culturally different. This made me more culturally aware.”

In addition, ReBekah McDaniel ’17 gave a violin performance and Interim Dean for Student Life Jason Meadows shared remarks.

View photos from the event.

Congratulations to the following students honored this year:


Abdulahi Abdiyow, a freshperson from Kenya; Anthony Adkins, a junior from Benton Harbor; Melainah Alford, a freshperson from Southfield; Isaiah Bailey, a freshperson from New Haven; Taijjanaye Beamon, a freshperson from Kalamazoo; Riley Bennett, a junior from Howell; Kayla Blett, a sophomore from Portage; Kyrie Bostic, a sophomore from Detroit; Sarah Boyle, a freshperson from Portage; Johnny Brazier, a sophomore from Pierson; Nieya Brown, a junior from Lansing; Marcus Browne, a senior from Houston, Texas; Nina Butts, a sophomore from Hartland; Andrew Campbell, a junior from Ann Arbor; Diangelo Carlton, a junior from Detroit; Eleanor Chapin-O’Leary, a junior from Ann Arbor; Destiny Clark, a sophomore from Cleveland, Ohio; Bryan Collins, a junior from Inkster; Nathaniel Colon, a junior from Southfield; Keely Cruz, a sophomore from Ceresco.


Martaz Davis, a freshperson from Lansing; Shacarra Dawkins, a freshperson from Inkster; Ta’Neeka DeMyers, a junior from Lansing; Donald Doyle, a sophomore from Fenton; Dominic Enriquez, a junior from Lansing; Karah Evans, a freshperson from Plainfield, Illinois; Tara Flanagan, a freshperson from Lansing; Kody Garcia, a senior from Greenfield, Indiana; Aaron Giorgi, a junior from Lakeville, Minnesota; Whitney Gordon-Akers, a senior from Battle Creek; Brandon Green, a freshperson from Detroit; Maia Greer, a senior from Kalamazoo; Nicholas Guerra, a senior from Rockford; Mariela Guzman, a sophomore from Lake Bluff, Illinois; Griffin Hammond, a sophomore from Lapeer; Ashley Harwood, a senior from Sault Ste. Marie; Areil Hayes, a freshperson from Matteson, Illinois; Olivia Horgrow, a senior from Olivet; Jillian Johnson, a junior from Lansing; Haydn Kinjorski, a junior from West Bloomfield; Liam Kinjorski, a freshperson from West Bloomfield; Keanalanimeleo’ Kunz, a sophomore from Laie, Hawaii.


Tammy Lee, a junior from Cassopolis; Ca’Tina Lewis, a senior from Albion; Ronald Lord, a senior from La Habra Heights, California; Desiree Luque Pradas, a sophomore from Seville, Spain; Edward Lynn, a freshperson from Baldwin; Drew Mandell, a junior from Maybee; Hailei Manthei, a freshperson from Albion; Karina Marin, a freshperson from Murrieta, California; Jamaul Martin, a senior from Inkster; Jesmarie Mateo, a freshperson from Wyoming; Brittany Matsumoto, a sophomore from Bath; Brittany McDuffie, a junior from Toledo, Ohio; Dominique McKillop, a senior from Imlay City; Jamari McKinney, a freshperson from Lansing; Samantha McPherson, a sophomore from Detroit; Hannah Mellino, a senior from Olivet; Anthony Merriman, a freshperson from Ferndale; Taytum Myers, a sophomore from Brethren.


Nhu Nguyen, a sophomore from Lansing; Ashton Osborne, a junior from Detroit; Megan Partlo, a senior from Coleman; Devin Pascavage, a junior from Muskegon; Lakisha Pressley, a junior from Grosse Pointe Woods; Cameron Ramos, a freshperson from Charlotte; Antonio Rogers, a freshperson from Clinton Township; Faith Sams, a freshperson from Lansing; Michael Sherman, a senior from Ypsilanti; Nicholas Siegfried, a freshperson from Pigeon; Maurice Smith, a freshperson from Jackson; Yul Snell, a sophomore from Westland; Samantha Steward, a junior from Olivet; Lynn TenBrink, a senior from Battle Creek; John Thompson, a freshperson from Southfield; Samantha Torres, a sophomore from Lansing; Preston Trammell, a senior from Holland; Rachel Webb, a freshperson from Sturgis; Monique Williams, a junior from Olivet.

Learn more about The University of Olivet’s inclusive and diverse community by contacting the Office of Admissions at 800.456.7189 or admissions@uolivet.edu.



We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking closing this window, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. However, you may visit “Cookie Settings” to provide a controlled consent.

Uolivet.edu occasionally displays advertisements from third-party advertisers. These advertisements are provided by independent companies or individuals over whom we have no direct control. While we strive to ensure the quality and relevance of the ads displayed, we want to make you aware of certain disclaimers and guidelines regarding these third-party advertisements.

Contact Admissions

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*