The University of Olivet and Thomas M. Cooley Law School to host Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame induction

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

The Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame will honor three outstanding leaders, legends and innovators in the insurance industry at the 20th annual induction ceremony of the Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame Tuesday, Aug. 19 at The Lansing Country Club.



Art Judson graduated from the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York in 1960. After graduating, Art began his civilian career as a loss control representative at Campbell Soup Company and then at Detroit’s largest independent insurance agency that later became Aon Risk Services. Art’s career has allowed him to experience the insurance business with agencies both large and small. Art is a true technician and has given back to the insurance industry by committing countless hours to educating the insurance novice, the experienced agent, and young people interested in future insurance careers. He has also given his time and expertise serving on many association task forces and committees. Art is truly honored for this recognition and feels humbled to be included with such an impressive group of Michigan insurance industry leaders and legends.



After earning his Bachelor of Political Science and Sociology from Western Illinois University, and his Master of Public Administration from Northern Illinois University, Bob was a college lecturer and director of continuing education for several years. In 1979 Bob was hired by Fritz Lewis as the director of education and professional development for the Independent Insurance Agents of Michigan (IIAM). Several years later he was promoted to manager of Agents Assistance Corporation (AAC) and then after the association’s consolidation to Michigan Association of Insurance Agents (MAIA) he served as President of AAC until 1995 when he was named CEO. Every day of his career was driven by his mission – All for the betterment of the Association and Michigan’s Independent Agent System.



Clair Stevens, associate professor of insurance and risk management at Olivet, earned his Bachelor of Arts from the college in 1980 and his Juris Doctorate from Thomas M. Cooley Law School in 1984. In 1984 and 1985, he also served as director of The University of Olivet’s insurance program. Clair began his insurance career working for Doug Federau, currently a The University of Olivet trustee, at the Okemos Insurance Agency in 1980. In 1986 he started with State Farm Insurance Companies in their claims department. He held several positions in the claims servicing and management arena, retiring in 2007. Clair served our nation completing 20 years in the armed forces. He served in the U.S. Navy and the Michigan National Guard, retiring as a 1SG in 1994. Clair says his greatest accomplishment is in the success of those he came in contact with; i.e. the role he played in the mentoring and assisting in the development of hundreds of students in the insurance academic environment, as well as employees in the insurance industry. Clair’s legacy continues in the success and accomplishments of those who knew him and allowed him to be part of their lives.


About the Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame and The University of Olivet

The Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame was established at The University of Olivet in 1994 as a way to pay tribute to individuals who have made a significant impact on the ability of the Michigan insurance and risk management industry to serve the public. An election panel, representing a cross-section of the insurance and risk management business, identifies leaders and/or innovators who have made significant contributions in five areas: product/service development, education, recruiting new participants, legislative and regulatory activity, and exemplary service.


The University of Olivet is also home to a nationally recognized undergraduate Risk Management and Insurance Center, an online Master of Business Administration in Insurance, and Gamma Iota Sigma chapter consistently ranked among the top three chapters in the nation each year – including the best chapter in the nation five times – most recently in 2014.


If you are interested in nominating someone into the Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame or need additional information, please visit olivetcollege.edu/department/risk-management-and-insurance or contact Carol Breed, administrator at The University of Olivet at (269) 749-7626.


Current members of the Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame

Current members of the Michigan Insurance Hall of Fame include – 1994 inductees: David J Dykhouse, Lansing; Richard H. Headlee, Farmington Hills; Fritz Lewis, Middleville; Charles A. McAlear, CPCU, South Haven, Michigan; Ralph Moulton, Green Valley, Arizona; the late A.J. Pasant, Lansing; Charles M. Trubac, CLU, CPCU, East Lansing; the late Nile Vermillion, Lansing; Thomas L. Wenck, CLU, CPCU, Green Bay, Wisconsin; and Roy Westran, CPCU, Brighton.  1995 inductees: the late Thomas G. Bowman, Sterling Heights; Howard “Corky” Gaylor, Roscommon; the late Vern Valentine (V.V.) Moulton, Lansing; Maxine V. Niemeyer, CLU, ChFC, MSFS, Grosse Pointe Woods; and the late William E. Robb, Howell.  1996 inductees: Harvey E. Kern, Frankenmuth; and Irwin “Burt” Meisel, CLU, ChFC, Southfield.  1997 inductees: Robert A. Bailey, Lansing; C. Eugene Chang, Traverse City; and Wardell C. Croft, Detroit.  1998 inductees: Donald A. Aschom, Seneca, South Carolina; and Margaret L. Torok, Southgate.  1999 inductees: E.L. Cox, Grand Rapids; and Douglas L. Federau, Okemos.  2000 inductees: Robert W. Elliot Jr., East Tawas; Thomas H. Ritter, Farmington Hills; and Richard E. Whitmer, Detroit.  2001 inductees: John C. Prost, CLU, ChFC, Grosse Pointe Park; and Robert E.J. Wiseman, Mason.  2002 inductees: Donald Ray Haas, CLU, ChFC, CFP, MSFS, Southfield; and Patrick W. Stainsby, Saginaw.  2003 inductees: Douglas G. Heeter, CLU, CPCU, Big Rapids; Harry G. Iwasko, Jr., Lansing; and H. Max Tanner, CPCU, Traverse City.  2004 inductees: Morrall M. Claramunt, Frankenmuth; and Ralph J. Ladd, Detroit.  2005 inductees: Wayne McBride, Troy; and Daniel Sobczynski, Northville.  2006 inductees: Nicholas J. Simone, Iron Mountain; and Larry W. Thomas, Portland.  2008 inductees: Janet K. Holstine, Scotts; Thomas C. Jones, Ann Arbor; and Norman J.E. Roe, Grand Rapids.  2009 Inductees: Herman J. Arends, Charlotte; and James M. Crosby III, Grand Rapids.  2010 Inductees: Mark Odland, CPCU, Stevensville; Merton Segal, CPCU, Bloomfield Hills; and James Wilds, CPCU, Frankenmuth.  2011 Inductees: Donald E. Eve, Flint Township; Robert B. Hughes, East Lansing; and D. Joseph Olson, Brighton. 2012 Inductee: Lawrence Kish. 2013 Inductees: Frank Dick, Adrian; Mike Larges, Frankenmuth; and David Smithkey, Lansing.


We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking closing this window, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. However, you may visit “Cookie Settings” to provide a controlled consent.

Uolivet.edu occasionally displays advertisements from third-party advertisers. These advertisements are provided by independent companies or individuals over whom we have no direct control. While we strive to ensure the quality and relevance of the ads displayed, we want to make you aware of certain disclaimers and guidelines regarding these third-party advertisements.

Contact Admissions

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*