Multicultural Awards Honor 100 Comets

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

The University of Olivet’s annual Multicultural Awards celebrate the students that make up its diverse and inclusive campus community. Comets with outstanding academic achievements are recognized during a special ceremony each spring, which includes an alumni guest speaker. This year, Zack Phillips ’06 shared his experience as a student and how the foundation he built at OC helped him launch a successful career.

Zack graduated with a bachelor’s degree in sports management. He was drawn to The University of Olivet by the opportunity to play football beyond high school. Zack credits Nancy Van Hoozier, associate professor of health and human performance, as well as members of the football coaching staff during his time as a Comet in helping him build a strong foundation for his career.

Zack shared his own experiences at The University of Olivet with students, reminding them that they are not only earning an education, but are building a network of connections, a platform of support and a launchpad for success as Comets. He said, “Remember, we are Sojourner Truth and Oprah Winfrey, two women who do as much as any man and then some. Remember, we are the Tuskegee Airmen, the Navajo code talkers, and the Japanese-Americans who fought for this country even as their own rights had been denied.

“Remember, we are Jackie Robinson, who endured scorn and spiked cleats, with pitches coming straight at his head, and still stole home in the World Series. Remember, we are Martin Luther King Jr. and Barack Obama, and I say that to say this: regardless of your skin color or race, you are America, you are the future.

“Go beyond the barriers you may have grown up with, such as myself, setbacks or failures you may face. When you encounter these things, stand up, dust yourself off, straighten your back and keep on going. Keep putting yourself out there and remain focused on your dreams. I challenge you to go out and improve this nation regardless of any adversity you may face. We are in a time of racial division, but don’t allow that to become a barrier. Don’t let hatred take over you. Use that as inspiration and rise above it.”

Zack currently serves as the vice president of sales for the United Shore Professional Baseball League and Jimmy John’s Field in Metro Detroit. He has more than 10 years of experience in the field and a proven track record of driving revenue, leveraging existing relationships, and developing new mutually beneficial partnerships. Zack is responsible for overseeing all revenue and the overall direction of sales departments for the league, including ticket sales, premium seating and corporate partnerships. In 2017, Zack was a nominated for the Crain’s Top 40 Under 40, an award given to the most influential successful professionals in Michigan with a commitment to community.

Congratulations to the following 100 students who were honored for their academic performance:

Anthony Adkins Donald Doyle Janet Kayode Taytum Myers
Amerika Armenta Nigel Durham Dyiamond Kibby Nhu Nguyen
Riley Bennett Jordan Ellis Haydn Kinjorski Ashton Osborne
Kayla Blett Matthew Ellis Miguel Kulikowski Ayren Parrish
Jasmine Boose Dominc Enriquez Keanalanimeleo’ Kunz Megan Partlo
Kyrie Bostic Renee Evans Alexander Lehman Devin Pascavage
Andre Bourlier Bernard Foster Isabelle Leon Leslie Phillips
Jared Brickley Michael Franklin Ronald Lord Victoria Porter
Amari Brown Kody Garcia Latrell Louie Olivia Ricketts
Nieya Brown JeRod Glenn Walter Love III Daniel Rutter
Jerald Bullock Marcial Gomez Jr Desiree Luque Pradas Antonio Santana
Marquise Burnett Whitney Gordon-Akers David Magallon Yul Snell
Jason Cabugos Sydni Gothard Drew Mandell Samantha Steward
Ricardo Canales Maia Greer Sydney Mangham Natalya Tamez
Diangelo Carlton Matthew Hall Jamaul Martin Brandon Taylor
Jontavious Carter Griffin Hammond Brittany Matsumoto Christopher Thomas
Julianna Carter Ashley Harwood Danielle McCoy Alexandra Thurston
Andrew Castaneda Diamon Haynes Sidney McIntosh Quincy Toney
Eleanor Chapin-O’Leary Ajahnae Henry Austin McKenzie Samantha Torres
Raltheal Cornish Alma Holt Dominique McKillop Alejandro Trevino
Keely Cruz Davon Jackson Hannah Mellino Marisa Vertrees
Nicole Dannah Forrest Jackson Davion Miller Hannah Weglarz
Tre Darby Jillian Johnson Dillon Mitchell Monique Williams
Ta’Neeka DeMyers Jaideep Joshua Narayanan Tyler Mojet Malik Woods
Jaylen Dixon Jesse Judge Bill Morris Maurice Young

Learn about The University of Olivet and find your fit in the inclusive campus community by scheduling a visit or attending an upcoming admissions event. Contact the Office of Admissions at 800.456.7189 or admissions@uolivet.edu for more information.


We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking closing this window, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. However, you may visit “Cookie Settings” to provide a controlled consent.

Uolivet.edu occasionally displays advertisements from third-party advertisers. These advertisements are provided by independent companies or individuals over whom we have no direct control. While we strive to ensure the quality and relevance of the ads displayed, we want to make you aware of certain disclaimers and guidelines regarding these third-party advertisements.

Contact Admissions

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*