Honors Convocation 2023

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

Students, faculty and staff were honored at The University of Olivet’s Honors Convocation on April 19.  Congratulations to all the award winners for your outstanding work. To view and download pictures from the event, click here.


Awards and Recipients


Professor/Staff Awards

Doctors Gorton and Peggy Riethmiller Award for Outstanding Administrator

Mike Lazusky

Doctors Gorton and Peggy Riethmiller Award for Excellence in Teaching

Mike Oyster

Frank Bartlett

Doctors Gorton and Peggy Riethmiller Award for Excellence in Advising

Regina Armstrong

Will Hagerty

Doctors Gorton and Peggy Riethmiller Award for Excellence in Scholarship

Nikki Magie

Outstanding Adjunct Award

Tabatha Keller

Art and Charlotte Stevens Excellent Educator Award

Maria Davis

Office of Academic Affairs and Office of the President

Presidential Distinguished Medalists- Top 5 Graduates and Most Influential Professors

Daniel Ballagh and Tom Humphreys
Laura Fox and Jeremy Duby
Alexis McDonald and Will Hagerty
Allyson Sears and Michael Weglarz
Erin Brady and Tom Humphreys

Presidential Distinguished Scholar

Savannah Baker
Daniel Ballagh
Amanda Clough
Laura Fox
Alexis McDonald
Edward Pilch
Zachary Zuk

President’s Leadership Institute Fellows

Logan Allen
Daniel Ballagh
Rivkie Biritz
Brielle Broderick
Landen Cooley
Alexandra DeVault
Bryce Gates
Da’Quarious Johnson
Seth Kading
Logan Kramer
Elisabeth McIntosh
Spencer Murphy
Jenna Pagano
Chelsea Perry
Jade Smith
Liberty Tetzlaff
Isabela Tijerina
Karley Wheeler

The University of Olivet Women’s Leadership Institute

Griffon Rice


Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award

Kayin Harper
Robert Davids
Cooper Beard
Sir Quarius Ball
Robert Reynolds
Destinee Hawkins

Linda Hoover Athletic/Scholastic Achievement Award

Gabby Joliff

Walter B. Sprandel Athletic/Scholastic Achievement Award

Owen Guilford

Office of the President Honors

Porter Scholarship Award

SirQuarius Ball
Elisabeth McIntosh
Ulrick Meighan
Jade Smith

Inclusion Excellence Student Award

Sarah M. Cruz
Destinee Hawkins
Elite Greek Society

Inclusion Excellence Faculty Award

Laura Barlond-Maas
Zoe Hammer
Dustin Bryd

Inclusion Excellence Staff Award

Robin Luckadoo Chadderdon
Joey Shepherd
Joshua VanWhye

Alumni Awards

Garfield Lake Review Advisor Stipend

Meredith Dodson

Lenora Belle Hazard Memorial Award

Kaliq White

The William Buchanan Award

Bray Wright

The Joan Johnson Wagner ’45 Alumni Board Scholarship

Summer Smith

The Ellyn ’36 & Lane ’40 Breidenstein Endowed Alumni Board Scholarship

Abigail Lahr

The Rev. Grafton ’37 and Ruth ’38 Thomas Alumni Board Scholarship

Rearden Biritz

The Stu Parsell Endowed Alumni Board Scholarship

Spencer Murphy

The Marty (Mason) Jennings ’67 Endowed Alumni Board Scholarship

Lily Rozeveld

Community Responsibility Awards

Leadership in Service and Service Learning Award

Taylor Moore
Kobe Hogue

Dr. Ray B. Loeschner ODK Leadership Award

Murtaza Ahmadi
Spencer Murphy
Malaya Shireman
Ella Gaffke
Lily Rozeveld
Sarah Cruz
Lilyanna Joy VanValkenburg

Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Edward P. Speare Biology Scholarship

Tonya Tepin
Meredith Morell

Rasmussen-Reames Pre-Medical Scholarship

Spencer Murphy

Fred Gruen Chemistry Assistantship

Amanda Ray

David N. Cutler ’65 Endowed Scholarship

London Eldridge
Emily Mitchell

Richard C. Fleming Ecology and Field Biology Prize

Gracen Zaremba

Outstanding Senior in Science

Mary Mitchell
Russell Mitchell

Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics Award

Sarah LaFoe

Outstanding Achievement in Acturial Science Award

Erin Brady

ACS Graduating Student in the Chemical Sciences

Hannah Mitchell

ACS Award for General Chemistry

Ella LaMothe

ACS Award for Organic Chemistry

London Eldridge

ACS Award for Physical Chemistry

Jennifer Mann

ACS Award for Inorganic Chemistry

Russell Mitchell

Social Sciences

Outstanding Criminal Justice Student

Lily Connelly
Cooper Phillips
Alexandra Polsinelli
Eric Smith

Outstanding Achievement in History

Laura Fox

Outstanding Achievement in Psychology

Marley Sherlin

Arts and Humanities

Media Prize – WOCR Staff Member of the Year

Maggie Berner

James R. Donohue Award in Arts and Communication

Laura Fox

Media Prize – Echo Staff Member of the Year

Abbey Peters

Media Prize – Garfield Lake Review Staff Member of the Year

Bray Wright
Hanna Sauve

Douglas & Blanche Gallery Endowed Scholarship

Andrew Sadler

Al and Mary Ann Gilmore Student Scholarship

Brielle Broderick
Charles (Jake) Dickinson

Wolfgang Meider Award

Nadia Anzaldua
Elizabeth Perez Pablo
Sydney Lynch

Excellence in English Award

Savannah Baker

Antoinette Green Prize in English

Bray Wright

Laura Berghorst Verplank Scholarship

Chase Hath

Leo T. Hendrick Prize in Creative Writing

Bray Wright

Sarah Maas

Deontay Thomas

Thelma Barlond Oderkirk Memorial Award

Amir Jones
Natalie Ross

Visual Arts

Justus W. Cohoe/Evelyn Gray Anderson Memorial Workshop and Travel Scholarship

Aram Brubaker
Riley Hancock

Visual Arts Honors

Samantha Van Beek
Vicktoria Thomas
Leah Hopkins
Denise Bryce
Charles Goldman
Elizabeth Kosier
Amyah Walker


Gospel Choir Award

Landen Cooley

Chorister of the Year Award

Cassidy Stormzand

Instrumentalist of the Year Award

Logan Kramer

Ivis Carlson Larson Music Scholarship

Elisabeth McIntosh

Amy Eldridge Award for Scholarship

Tracy Katz

Helmer & Larida Petersen Endowment Music Scholarship

Logan Kramer
Asia Sherman

Thelma Pryor Music Scholarship

Jalayna Porter

Samuel Robinson Music Scholarship

Max Card

Business Administration and Computing

Computer Science Student of the Year

Erin Ruley

Accounting Student of the Year

Lyndsey Anne Katz

Business Marketing Student of the Year

Breanne Bess

Business Management Student of the Year

Seth Kading

Financial Planning Student of the Year

Joel Carlson

The Risk Management and Insurance Student of the Year

Mitchell Yarger

ITM Student of the Year Award

Evan Warner

John S. Homer Business and Economics Scholar

Andrew Waller

Charles M. Trubac Insurance Scholarship Award

Kylie Flynn

Health and Human Performance

Debra Tighe Memorial Award

Jill Arends
Gabby Joliff

Dr. Jeffery S. Vessely Memorial Scholarship Award

Jill Arends

Jare Klein Excellence Award

Hayden Germain
Ethan Valente

Phi Epsilon Kappa-Zeta Alpha Award

Carter Clements
Dakota Galeazzi
Ellie Louiselle
Jenna Otten
Savannah Pavoni

All-Scholar Performance Team

Jill Arends
SirQuarius Ball
Cooper Beard
Bo Brandt
Mason Cook
Christopher Davis
Jonathan Davis
Julia Decker
Cole Deyo
Olivia DuFore
Samantha Foster
Ryan Ganger
Evan Honnen
Emily Keeler
Trevor Klotz
Sydney Lynch
Elijah Saathoff
Cole Strieter
Liberty Tetzlaff
Dakota Weaver

Health and Human Performance In Action Award

SirQuarius Ball
Ryan Bart
Jordan Hartman
Deonte Higgins
Gabrielle Joliff
Drew Kupolos
Jackson Murphy






We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking closing this window, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. However, you may visit “Cookie Settings” to provide a controlled consent.

Uolivet.edu occasionally displays advertisements from third-party advertisers. These advertisements are provided by independent companies or individuals over whom we have no direct control. While we strive to ensure the quality and relevance of the ads displayed, we want to make you aware of certain disclaimers and guidelines regarding these third-party advertisements.

Contact Admissions

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

"*" indicates required fields

Your Name*